Select Page


We in the LGBTQ community have our own heroes: LGBTQ journalists who have shown courage and resolve by telling the truth, including their own personal truths, whatever the cost and whatever the difficulties. NLGJA continually seeks to recognize those heroes in our midst. Since its inception, NLGJA has recognized the work of hundreds of journalists.

Excellence in Journalism Awards
NLGJA’s Excellence in Journalism Awards were established in 1993 to foster, recognize and reward excellence in journalism on issues related to the LGBTQ community. In addition to Journalist of the Year, awards are presented for HIV/AIDS coverage, written news, written feature, written opinion/editorial, written sports, radio, television, documentary, photojournalism, online journalism, blogging, LGBTQ media and student journalism.
Apply Now!

Al Neuharth Award for Innovation in Investigative Journalism
Since 2013, the Gannett Foundation has presented The Al Neuharth Award for Innovation in Investigative Journalism to an NLGJA member who best uses innovative approaches for investigative reporting.
Apply Now!

Randy Shilts Award for LGBT Coverage
The NLGJA Randy Shilts Award for LGBTQ Coverage is an award designed to honor journalists who consistently bring stories of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community to life in mainstream media outlets. The award honors individual journalists and news organizations who go the extra mile to ensure that all Americans are aware of the diversity within the LGBTQ community, as well as the unique struggles lesbians, gays, bisexuals, transgender and queer people face in the United States and around the world.

Lisa Ben Award for Achievement in Features Coverage
The NLGJA Lisa Ben Award for Achievement in Features Coverage is designed to honor a journalist whose body of work is distinguished by insight and impact through engaging features on LGBTQ individuals, the LGBTQ community or LGBTQ issues.

LGBTQ Journalists Hall of Fame
Established in 2005 as part of NLGJA’s 15th anniversary celebration, the LGBTQ Journalists Hall of Fame honors individuals who made exemplary contributions through their careers to NLGJA’s mission of promoting fair and accurate coverage of issues affecting the LGBTQ community.