Excellence in Journalism AwardsThe National Lesbian & Gay Journalists Association celebrates its 25th anniversary in 2015. Please join us in recognizing honorees for the 10th year of our LGBT Journalists Hall of Fame.

Leroy Aarons founded NLGJA in 1990 – and inspired us all by pioneering a watershed change in the profession of journalism and newsrooms throughout the nation. When Roy passed away in 2004, many NLGJA members wished to honor his lifetime achievements, as a journalist, educator, playwright and author.

As writer Andy Tobias observed: “Roy Aarons was one of those largely unsung heroes who really did as much as anyone I can think of to advance understanding and equality.”

Beginning in 2005, and as part of NLGJA 15th annual convention that year, we launched the LGBT Journalists Hall of Fame to honor remarkable individuals like Roy Aarons and to tell their stories. The LGBT Journalists Hall of Fame endures and for the past decade, has honored 30 men and women. These are individuals, living and deceased, who have left a lasting mark on the profession – through their own courage, by blazing trails and by their dedication to telling the truth about themselves and in their work.

See https://www.nlgja.org/awards/hof to learn more about these individuals like Roy Aarons, Sarah Pettit, Marlon Riggs, “Lisa Ben” and others who have been enshrined in the Hall of Fame.

NLGJA Will Honor New Inductees Into the NLGJA Hall of Fame in 2015

Building on this legacy, NLGJA will again choose a new slate of individuals in 2015 to induct into the LGBT Journalists Hall of Fame. We honored six individuals the very first year, and now 10 years later, we will again identify, nominate and select six individuals equally deserving. We’re asking you to join us in this.

  1. Please nominate individuals whom you feel deserve to be named in 2015 to the LGBT Journalists Hall of Fame.
  2. The LGBT identified individuals may be living or deceased, of any gender, gender identity or gender expression and have made lasting and significant contributions to any form of journalism, publishing, or journalism education in the United States.
  3. To make it easy, just submit your nomination online. Please share your suggestions for worthy candidates with us no later than Friday, February 13, 2015.

Keep in mind, this is not a contest and no monetary award will be made to any individual making or receiving a nomination or Hall of Fame recognition. Instead, we simply wish to invite everyone to help us choose the best of the best for 2015.

Once candidates are identified, all of their names and available background details will be shared with an advisory panel to evaluate the information. The panel then will forward its recommendations to the leadership of the National Lesbian & Gay Journalists Association who will choose the inductees. The inductees will be honored during the NLGJA annual convention in September 2015 in San Francisco.


About the National Lesbian & Gay Journalists Association

NLGJA is an organization of journalists, media professionals, educators and students working from within the news industry to foster fair and accurate coverage of LGBT issues. NLGJA opposes all forms of workplace bias and provides professional development to its members. For more information, visit www.nlgja.org.