L.A. Exclusive
A National Benefit for NLGJA: The Association of LGBTQ+ Journalists

NLGJA: The Association of LGBTQ+ Journalists places the utmost value on the safety of our members and supporters. Due to the effects of COVID-19, our 2020 L.A. Exclusive event has been postponed indefinitely.

L.A. Exclusive 2019 was held May 31 at the L.A. LGBT Center’s The Village at Ed Gould Plaza.

Each year, L.A. Exclusive raises thousands of dollars for the NLGJA’s programs, including those that provide scholarships to aspiring LGBTQ+ journalists and resources for fair and accurate news coverage of the LGBTQ+ community and issues. L.A. Exclusive draws some of Los Angeles’ top talent for a night of great cocktails and conversation. The event includes the presentation of the Lisa Ben Award for Achievement in Features Coverage and the Jeanne Córdova Award to a LGBTQ+ woman for a body of work in journalism and/or opinion.

The event was chaired by NLGJA national board director Senta Scarborough.

Special guests included 2015 Sarah Pettit LGBTQ+ Journalist of the Year Trish Bendix, fashion model Ronnie Kroell, award-winning reporter Nico Lang, “Escaping Rock Bottom” host Brandon Lee, Variety Senior Film Awards, Events and Lifestyle Editor Marc Malkin, NBC4 “Today in LA” Weekend Anchor Mekahlo Medina, Univision reporter Luis Sandoval, ABC7 correspondent Karl Schmid, actor George Steeves and CBS News correspondent Jamie Yuccas.

Claudia Eller
Variety Editor-in-Chief
2019 Lisa Ben Award Recipient

Rachael Zimmerman
Inside the Black Triangle Founder
2019 NLGJA Jeanne Córdova Award Recipient

Presenting Sponsor

Diamond Sponsor

Platinum Sponsors

Gold Sponsor