nlgjawebsiteheaderEstablished in 2005 as part of NLGJA’s 15th anniversary celebration, the LGBT Journalists Hall of Fame was launched to honor LGBT journalists who have shown courage and resolve by telling the truth, including their own personal truths, whatever the cost and whatever the difficulties.

Thomas Morgan III was inducted in 2005. Here’s an excerpt from his biography for the LGBT Journalists Hall of Fame:

“The National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) was not particularly welcoming to its lesbian and gay members before Thomas Morgan III was elected as the association’s president in 1989. Many doubted that they existed — sometimes openly referring to homosexuality as ‘a white thing’ — while others adopted a ‘don’t ask, don’t tell’ attitude.

“That attitude left the black gay and lesbian members of the country’s largest organization of journalists of color closeted — afraid to be outspoken, active members and unable to bring their full selves to the table. Morgan’s election helped change that attitude.”

Click here to read the complete biography.