Select Page

Randy Shilts Award for LGBTQ Coverage


The NLGJA Randy Shilts Award for LGBTQ Coverage is an award designed to honor journalists who consistently bring stories of the LGBTQ community to life in mainstream media outlets. The award honors individual journalists and news organizations who go the extra mile to ensure that all Americans are aware of the diversity within the LGBTQ community, as well as the unique struggles lesbians, gays, bisexuals, transgender and queer people face in the United States and around the world.

The award is named in memory of Randy Shilts, a member of the NLGJA Hall of Fame, who is widely credited with being the first reporter to cover the “gay beat” for a major metropolitan newspaper. His writing in the San Francisco Chronicle brought the stories of gays and lesbians – whether they were living with AIDS or serving in the military – to the attention of millions of Americans. Before his death in 1994, Shilts authored three best-selling books, including the groundbreaking And the Band Played On, cataloguing the rise of the AIDS epidemic in the United States.



Award winners have included:


Dateline: DC

The Randy Shilts Award for LGBTQ Coverage is presented at Dateline:DC, a national benefit for NLGJA, each November in Washington, D.C.

Scott Simon

NPR "Weekend Edition Saturday" host Scott Simon is the recipient of the 2017 Randy Shilts Award for Excellence in LGBTQ Coverage. Scott Simon has reported from all fifty states, five continents, and ten wars, from El Salvador to Sarajevo to Afghanistan and Iraq. His...

read more

Frank Bruni

The New York Times columnist Frank Bruni was the recipient of the 2016 NLGJA Randy Shilts Award for LGBTQ Coverage. “Randy Shilts paved the way for so many of us, covering gay issues when news organizations often resisted that,” said Bruni. “His work certainly...

read more

Jeffrey Toobin

NLGJA – The Association of LGBTQ Journalists proudly honored Jeffrey Toobin, a senior legal analyst for CNN and staff writer at The New Yorker, with the 2015 NLGJA Randy Shilts Award for LGBTQ Coverage on November 19, 2015 in Washington. Toobin was recognized for his...

read more

Diane Rehm

NLGJA presented the 2014 Randy Shilts Award for LGBTQ Coverage to radio host Diane Rehm for her exemplary coverage of the LGBTQ community, and for bringing LGBTQ issues to a mainstream audience. Rehm has covered marriage, progress and regression on LGBTQ rights. Her...

read more

Judy Woodruff

NLGJA presented the 2013 NLGJA Randy Shilts Award for LGBTQ Coverage to Judy Woodruff. Ms. Woodruff is Co-Anchor and Managing Editor of PBS NewsHour with Gwen Ifill and Judy Woodruff. During her more than 30 year journalism career with PBS, CNN, and NBC, Woodruff has...

read more

Michel Martin

The 2012 NLGJA Randy Shilts Award for LGBTQ Coverage was presented to NPR’s Michel Martin. The host of “Tell Me More,” Martin has consistently lived up to her program’s title with her coverage of the LGBTQ community, going beyond the headlines to ask deeper questions...

read more