The National Lesbian & Gay Journalists Association is now accepting submissions for its 2013 Excellence in Journalism Awards. Work published in 2012 is eligible and submissions are due Sunday, April 21, 2013. For online submission forms, click here; more information on the award submission guidelines is available here

The NLGJA Excellence in Journalism Awards were established in 1993 to foster, recognize and reward excellence in journalism on issues related to the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) community.

Work may be submitted for the 2013 NLGJA Excellence in Journalism Awards in the following categories:

 Special recognition awards:

  • Journalist of the Year
  • Sarah Pettit Memorial Award for the LGBT Journalists of the Year

Print/online awards:

  • Excellence in HIV/AIDS Coverage
  • Excellence in News Writing 
  • Excellence in Feature Writing
  • Excellence in Opinion/Editorial Writing
  • Excellence in Online Journalism
  • Excellence in Multimedia
  • Excellence in Photojournalism
  • Excellence in Student Journalism

Broadcast awards:

  • Excellence in Network Television
  • Excellence in Local Television
  • Excellence in Radio