FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Thursday, June 23, 2022

PRESS CONTACT: Clare Lefebure


WASHINGTON, D.C. (June 23, 2022) – WASHINGTON, DC – Today, NLGJA: The Association of LGBTQ Journalists announced the recipients of its 2022 Excellence in Journalism Awards and recognized exemplary work produced in 2021. The highest individual awards, Journalist of the Year and Sarah Pettit Memorial Award for the LGBTQ Journalist of the Year, have been awarded to Joe Fryer and Neal Broverman, respectively.

The NLGJA: The Association of LGBTQ Journalists Excellence in Journalism Awards were established in 1993 to foster, recognize and reward excellence in journalism on issues related to the LGBTQ community.

The 2022 NLGJA: The Association of LGBTQ Journalists Excellence in Journalism Awards recipients are:


Special Recognition Awards:

Journalist of the Year Award

Joe Fryer, NBC News

Sarah Pettit Memorial Award for the LGBTQ Journalist of the Year Award

Neal Broverman, Editorial Director, Print at Equal Pride

The Al Neuharth Award for Innovation in Investigative Journalism

No award given


Print/Online Awards:

Excellence in Book Writing Award
Sarah Schulman for “Let the Record Show”, Farrar, Straus and Giroux.

Excellence in Feature Writing Award
Adam Piore for “Pharma CEO Faces Personal Fight for a New Breed of Organ Donors“, Bloomberg Businessweek,racing%20to%20safeguard%20it%20again

Excellence in Feature Writing, Non-Daily Award
Darian Aaron for “Filmmaking Duo Set To Shake Up Animation With Historic Black Queer Film ‘Pritty’“, The Reckoning

Excellence in Long Form Journalism Award
Nico Lang for “Mississippi’s Largest City Has a Water Crisis. Its Governor Just Signed a Bill Attacking Trans Kids“, Them

Excellence in Newswriting Award
Scott Gleeson for “Why haven’t more high-profile athletes come out as gay? Will Joe Biden’s presidency spark LGBTQ breakthrough Trump era couldn’t?“, USA TODAY

Excellence in Newswriting, Non-Daily Award
Chase Karacostas for “Is Pride for adults only? How SC is working to better support, cater to LGBTQ+ youth“, Myrtle Beach Sun News

Excellence in Photojournalism Award
Magnus Hastings and John Sotomayor for “Thinking Outside the Box“, Embrace Magazine

Excellence in Profile Writing Award
Lynne Gerber for “AIDS and the Blessings of Staying: The Ministry of Reverend Jim Mitulski“, The Revealer

Excellence in Sports Writing Award
David Wharton for “Are skateboarders really solving the world’s problems, one trick at a time?”, Los Angeles Times

Excellence in Student Journalism Award
Antonio Nevarez for “How the pandemic gave me courage to explore my feminine side“,

Excellence in Travel Writing Award
Donald Padgett for “Gay Anthropologist Dr. K David Harrison Preserves Endangered Languages“, Out Traveler magazine,endangered%20languages%20in%20isolated%20areas.&text=As%20a%20child%20in%20a,K.


Digital Awards:

Excellence in Multimedia Award
Jan Diehm, Kelsey Campbell, and Lace Garcia for “I Kissed a Girl to ‘Call Me by Your Name’“, The Pudding

Excellence in Online Journalism Award
Quispe López and Madison Hall for “2020 was the deadliest year on record for transgender people in the US, Insider database shows. Experts say it’s getting worse.”, Insider

Excellence in Blogging Award
No award given


Editorial Awards:

Excellence in Column Writing Award
Garrett Schlichte for “Love, us“, Them

Excellence in Opinion/Editorial Writing Award
Ashley Diamond for “I’m a Trans Woman Locked in a Men’s Prison. I’m Fighting to Be Free“, Them


Broadcast Awards:

Excellence in Digital Video
Hannah Long-Higgins and Shrai Popat for “My Name is Andi“, BBC News

Excellence in Documentary Award
Vivian Kleiman and Justin Hall for “No Straight Lines: The Rise of Queer Comics“, Tribeca Film Festival

Excellence in Local Television Award
Spectrum News NY1 Staff for “NY1 Presents: Pride and Perseverance“, Spectrum News NY1

Excellence in Network Television Award
Jamie Yuccas/Correspondent, Judy Tygard/Executive Producer, and the 48 Hours team for 48 Hours ‘The Life and Death of Nikki Kuhnhausen‘”, CBS NEWS

Excellence in Podcasts Award
Imara Jones, Oliver-Ash Kleine, Annie Ning, Tiler Wilson and Audrey Quinn for “The Anti-Trans Hate Machine: A Plot Against Equality”, TransLash Media

Excellence in Radio Award
Sylvie Douglis, Sam Sanders, Jordana Hochman for “The Legacy of ACT UP and its fight to end AIDS”, NPR’s It’s Been A Minute with Sam Sanders


Coverage Awards:

Excellence in Bisexual Coverage Award
Dani Blum for “The ‘Double Closet’: Why Some Bisexual People Struggle With Mental Health“, The New York Times

Excellence in Business Coverage Award
Andrea Castillo for “A lifeline for LGBTQ Latinos on the brink of closure“, Los Angeles Times

Excellence in Education Coverage Award
Nico Lang for “LGBTQ+ Mormons Sent a Message of Hope by Lighting BYU Sign in Rainbow Colors“, Them

Excellence in Food Coverage Award
Michelle Hyun Kim for “Crying in Michelle Zauner’s Kitchen“, Them

Excellence in Health/Fitness Coverage Award
No award given

Excellence in HIV/AIDS Coverage Award
No award given

Excellence in International Coverage Award
Xuandi Wang and Ting Lin for “Queer Memories in Beijing“, The Baffler

Excellence in Legal Coverage Award
Finbarr Toesland for “Police departments across U.S. are mandating LGBTQ training“, NBC News

Excellence in Political Coverage Award
Emily Starbuck Gerson for “The Battle is Over: Biden Ends Trump Ban on Trans Military Service“, Modern Military Magazine

Excellence in QPOC Coverage Award
Eva Reign & the Transnational Team for “Transnational – Love Us in the Light“, VICE News

Excellence in Religion Coverage Award
Rana Thamrin & the Transnational Team for “Transnational – Right to Believe“, VICE News

Excellence in Theatre Coverage Award
Jim Farmer for “Immersive Theatre That Left Scars: Behind the Collapse of Serenbe Playhouse“, American Theatre

Excellence in Transgender Coverage Award
Ellen Shanna Knoppow for “How Two Detroit Ballroom Godmothers Made Sure VICE Got the Whole Story About Murdered Trans Woman Kelly Stough“, Pride Source

Excellence in Nonbinary and Gender Nonconforming Coverage Award
Melissa Block and Jason DeRose for “Who belongs at a women’s college in 2021? Students want admissions policies to change“, NPR’s%20colleges%20want%20changes%20in%20admissions%20policies%20%3A%20NPR&text=Press-,Nonbinary%20students%20at%20women’s%20colleges%20want%20changes%20in%20admissions%20policies,that%20increasingly%20identifies%20as%20nonbinary.


# # #

About NLGJA: The Association of LGBTQ Journalists:

NLGJA: The Association of LGBTQ Journalists is a journalist-led association working within the news media to advance fair and accurate coverage of LGBTQ communities and issues. We promote diverse and inclusive workplaces by holding the industry accountable and providing education, professional development and mentoring. For more information, visit