Board of Directors

Executive Committee

NLGJA National President
2014 to 2016
Investigative Producer, CNN
An award-winning writer and producer for CNN and who focuses on health and investigative news, Christensen previously worked as an investigative producer/documentarian in CNN’s Special Investigations Unit, where she won the highest awards in broadcasting –the Peabody and DuPont awards, among other top prizes, as a producer for Christiane Amanpour’s God’s (Jewish) Warriors. She also produced the award-winning MLK’s Words That Changed a Nation; Black in America: Eyewitness to Murder; Obama Revealed; Sarah Palin Revealed; Christiane Amanpour’s Generation Islam, and several breaking-news documentaries. Since 2013, Christensen has served as NLGJA’s president.
Vice President of Print & Online
2012 to 2014

Sarah Blazucki is former editor of Philadelphia Gay News, the oldest LGBT newsweekly in the country. Under her direction, the staff won more than 35 awards for news writing, arts and entertainment, columns, photos and advertising.

Vice President of Broadcast
2013 to 2015
Special Projects Producer, ABC7

Ken is a Segment Producer at KGO-TV, the ABC owned station in San Francisco.  A three time Emmy award winning producer, Ken has been active in NLGJA for over a decade.  He served as President of the Northern California Chapter and as a member of the NLGJA National Board.  &nb

2013 to 2015
Social Media Editor, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel

Sharif Durhams is the social media editor and a newsroom digital strategist at the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel. He consults with reporters and editors on their use of digital tools as well as the look and feel of new products launched by the media company.

2013 to 2015
Digital Director, the Donald W. Reynolds National Center for Business Journalism

Robin J. Phillips is Digital Director at the Reynolds Center for Business Journalism. She coaches journalists on social media and personal branding and teaches a course on the Business & Future of Journalism at ASU’s Cronkite School of Journalism.

Board of Directors


A graduate of Indiana University, Tyler has been working in both print and digital communications. 

2013 to 2014

Matthew Berger joined Dezenhall Resources in 2010 after more than a dozen years covering Washington politics and policy for television, print and online outlets.

2013 to 2014

Bil Browning, a long-time gay activist and writer, is the founder and editor-in-chief of The Bilerico Project. He is also a freelance feature writer. Known for his political and social commentary, Bil does consulting work for political communications and new media projects.

2014 to 2015
2013 to 2014

Fiona is EVP of Television & New Media for Martian Entertainment in New York City, producing content to promote equality. Her early career was in Houston, Texas in resource development, marketing and communications for nonprofit organizations.

2013 to 2015
Broadcast Director
Sue Green is a guest contributor to the Re:Act Blog. After working for more than two decades in the industry, she is now the Broadcast Director of the Cronkite News Service at Arizona State University and serves on both the national board of the National Lesbian & Gay Journalists Association and the board of UNITY Journalists.
2013 to 2014
Star Group
2013 to 2015

Rick Stuckey works at NBC Chicago and Telemundo Chicago as a videographer, video editor and live shot technician.  Rick has worked in small and medium markets including a stint in LGBT media. He is devoted to fair and accurate reporting on all issues by all media outlets. 

2013 to 2015

As a staff Writer for People magazine since 2005, Jeff Truesdell draws on three decades as a newspaper reporter, editor, freelancer, journalism educator and budding documentary filmmaker.