Applications are now being accepted for both the Leroy F. Aarons and the Kay Longcope Scholarships. Apply online now. Please submit your application before May 23, 2014.

Leroy F. Aarons and the Kay Longcope scholarships are awarded annually to students who demonstrate a commitment to providing fair and accurate coverage of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) community. These annual scholarships are presented in honor of two prominent journalists. Applications are open for the 2013-2014 academic year. 

Leroy F. Aarons Scholarship Program

The Leroy F. Aarons scholarship was established in 2005 to honor NLGJA founder Leroy Aarons and to continue his work of fostering fair and accurate coverage of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues from within the news industry. Past winners include:

  • Dartunorro Clark (2013) 
  • Christopher Carbone (2012)
  • Sharyn Jackson (2011)
  • Mary Susman (2010)
  • Ryan McLendon (2009)
  • Matthew Leung (2008)
  • Colin Dugdale (2007)
  • Dennis Mitchell (2006)

Apply for the Leroy F. Aarons Scholarship, Click Here.

Kay Longcope Scholarship Program

The Kay Longcope scholarship was established in 2008 in memory of Boston Globe journalist Kay Longcope, who co-founded the Texas Triangle, a LGBT weekly newspaper that would eventually grow to become the major source for all things gay in Texas, covering the gamut from news to art, relationships to music reviews. This scholarship has been awarded twice before and will continue to fund a LGBT student of color who plans a career in journalism. Past winners include:

  • Mario Montavlo (2013)
  • John-Carlos Estrada (2012)
  • Fenit Nirappil (2011)
  • Carl Gaines (2010)

Apply for the Kay Longcope Scholarship, Click Here.