The deadline for submission to The Gannett Foundation Award for Digital Innocation in Watchdog Journalism has been extended to June 21, 2013.

NLGJA and The Gannett Foundation are partnering this year with a special opportunity for NLGJA members.

The Gannett Foundation Award for Digital Innovation in Watchdog Journalism, funded by The Gannett Foundation, will be given to the person or team who best uses innovative approaches for investigative reporting. Selection is based on the quality and creativity of the work submitted.

Award Prize: $5,000, to be awarded August 24, 2013 in Boston at the NLGJA Awards Reception. The winner does not have to be present at the ceremony to receive the award.

Deadline: All entries must be received by Midnight EDST, Friday, June 21 , 2013.

Eligibility: You must be a current NLGJA member to enter. If you are not an NLGJA member, and would like to submit an entry, simply join NLGJA here, and then send in your entry.

Entries must be in the English language and published or aired between: April 30, 2012 – March 30, 2013.

Any digital medium is accepted, including online, on air, photography and video entries. The entry may consist of a single piece, or a series on a single topic.

To Enter: Simply submit your piece or series via email to The email must also include:

  • Your name (or the project team leader’s name, who will also serve as the point of contact)
  • Address
  • Phone
  • Email address
  • Project title
  • Short description of the project (50 words or less)

Please note: For team submissions, you must provide a primary contact as the entrant. This person must have played a lead or key role in the submitted work.

The winner will be notified by July 15, 2013.

For any questions, please contact Bach Polakowski at or by phone at 202-588-9888.