The National Lesbian & Gay Journalists Association is now accepting submissions for its 2014 Excellence in Journalism Awards and the Al Neuharth Innovation in Investigative Journalism Award. Work published or broadcast in 2013 is eligible and submissions are due Thursday, May 1, 2014. Submission forms and details are available at

Excellence in Journalism Awards

The NLGJA Excellence in Journalism Awards were established in 1993 to foster, recognize and reward excellence in journalism on issues related to the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) community.

For the first time, NLGJA will recognize excellence in blogging as a category for the Excellence in Journalism Awards. The category aims to offer further recognition of the work done for independent outlets.

Work may be submitted for the 2014 NLGJA Excellence in Journalism Awards in the following categories:

Special recognition awards:

  • Journalist of the Year
  • Sarah Pettit Memorial Award for the LGBT Journalist of the Year

Print/online awards:

  • Excellence in HIV/AIDS Coverage
  • Excellence in News Writing
  • Excellence in Feature Writing
  • Excellence in Opinion/Editorial Writing
  • Excellence in Blogging
  • Excellence in Online Journalism
  • Excellence in Multimedia
  • Excellence in Photojournalism
  • Excellence in Student Journalism

Broadcast awards:

  • Excellence in Network Television
  • Excellence in Local Television
  • Excellence in Radio

Past winners of special recognition awards have included: Michael Luongo (2013 Journalist of the Year), Lila Shapiro (2013 Sarah Pettit LGBT Journalist of the Year), Steven W. Thrasher (2012 Journalist of the Year) and Chris Geidner (2012 Sarah Pettit LGBT Journalist of the Year). 

Al Neuharth Award

The Al Neuharth Award for Innovation in Investigative Journalism, funded by the Gannett Foundation, is given to the person or team who best uses innovative approaches for investigative reporting. Selection is based on the quality and creativity of the work submitted.

The recipient of The Al Neuhart Award will also receive a $5,000 prize, to be awarded August 21, 2014 in Chicago at the NLGJA Awards Reception. The winner does not have to be present at the ceremony to receive the award.

The award, renamed this year to honor Al Neuharth, was first awarded in 2013 to April Hunt of The Atlanta Journal-Constitution for her article, “Faulty Fire Gear.”

# # #

About the National Lesbian & Gay Journalists Association

NLGJA is an organization of journalists, media professionals, educators and students working from within the news industry to foster fair and accurate coverage of LGBT issues. NLGJA opposes all forms of workplace bias and provides professional development to its members. For more information, visit the NLGJA website at